Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam questions for 5.3L

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2003, 03:27 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Cam questions for 5.3L

I have $450 to spend and I have decided to get a cam. I'm looking into an LS1 cam, about how much hp would this give me and would it be worth it? Here is one http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...tem=2440449755. Also suggestions would be appreciated, my truck is a daily driver and can't have crappy gas mileage,I drive lots of Hwy miles, need my truck to be reliable. Just want more hp. I'm not very familiar with cams so, what would be the biggest cam that I could put in my truck that I won't have to use other tuning besides my HPP3 or minor tuning? How much does it generally cost to have a cam installed and or tuning? Sorry for the large amount of questions I'm still learning on this subject. Last question if I did have the LS1 cam installed would it make my truck sound more like the 5.7L LS1 because they sound sooooooooo sweeeeeeet with long tubes?!!!!! Thanks a lot
--------------
99' GMC Sierra SLE rc/sb 5.3L: 3.42 limited slip rear end, HPP3, custom ram air set-up, K&N FIPK, Helix Power Tower TBS, custom true duel Flowmaster exhaust set-up, Magnaflow x-pipe, Edelbrock TES headers.
Old 10-31-2003, 03:48 PM
TECH Fanatic

If you're doing a cam swap don't go with that cam. It's not worth your time and money. Seems like a lot of people are going with the Z06 cam and getting VERY nice results, somewhere around 30+hp at the wheels.

To help get that nice exhaust tone, look into getting some long tube headers.
Old 10-31-2003, 04:35 PM
TECH Senior Member

Yea, that is a stock cam, not much better than what you already have. An improvment yes, but you don't need the lifters. I sent your PM back.
Old 11-02-2003, 12:58 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by Fast4.8