THE TRUCK STOP General Chat area. Religion and politics topics will undoubtedly be deleted. Anything over PG-13 is not allowed. WORK SAFE!

Going back into the Salvage industry

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2014, 09:01 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going back into the Salvage industry

Before I took over my Dad's computer business, I was doing internet sales for a friend's auto salvage yard. I had been doing it successfully for 3 years when I left.

Now after several years of struggling to keep a computer shop open in a failing economy, I have given up. I am not closing my business, but I am closing my retail store front.

I was talking to my buddy, and he suggested I come back to work for him. Really no surprise, he has been begging me for 5 years to come work at their new salvage yard. We sat down and discussed it. The conclusion is, I am going back. I will be a part time counter salesman and full time internet sales. It will be 2 separate jobs.

I will still be servicing my commercial computer clients. Many have become friends through the years, and I can't just leave them out to dry.

Looks like I will be working 2 full time and 1 part time job now. But the great news is I will still have a good bit of freedom to do whatever I want.

Signed the papers on a new house Friday. I will be nice to have some steady income coming.
Old 10-21-2014, 11:36 AM
Launching!

Right on! I hope all works out well for you! thats a bit of a career change for sure.

-Kenny
Old 10-21-2014, 01:27 PM
TECH Addict

Thanks

I had a friend that was murdered several years ago. He managed their salvage yard. I was hired to come in, figure everything our for them and get the yard back up and running. It took me about a year to figure everything out, and the next 2 to really pump up the sales. It was a pretty drastic change for me after working on computers my whole life.