Notices
GMT 800 & Older GM General Discussion 2006 & Older Trucks | General Discussion

Low Coolant light

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2010, 05:10 PM
apple bottom jeans

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Low Coolant light

My low coolant light came on today. Going to let it sit tonight and see if theres any puddles under it. I don't want to drive it but I'm probably going to have to this weekend.

I'm a newb when it comes to under the hood stuff so I just need to know what kind of coolant I should put in..and I assume I'm going to be filling it in the radiator?

I googled it, but couldn't find what type to use. It's a 02 sierra, with 128K miles on it so I imagine stuff is getting old...and I've never done any coolant on it since I've had it (05) so I'm assuming it's just evaporating or something. Maybe water pump?

Anyways...I'm just going to fill it(should I fill it after it's been sitting for a while?) and see if the light comes on again, and keep an eye on the temperatures.

Thanks dewds.
Old 04-06-2010, 05:13 PM
PT's Slowest Truck

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Your truck takes DexCool from the factory...coolant could be leaking from multiple places but the water pump gaskets are the most common
Old 04-06-2010, 05:17 PM
apple bottom jeans

Originally Posted by budhayes3
Your truck takes DexCool from the factory...coolant could be leaking from multiple places but the water pump gaskets are the most common
So I can buy dexcool at autoparts stores...and ballpark, how hard/much is it to swap the gaskets?

Thanks for the quick answer
Old 04-06-2010, 05:20 PM
something else

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have had that light come on a few times after a hard U turn. The coolant tank was still full and it was/is okay just turn the truck off and restart it and it should be fine. Check your oil just to make sure it's not milky oil.
Old 04-06-2010, 05:22 PM
PT's Slowest Truck

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts