Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here and a Couple Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2004, 01:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Newbie here and a Couple Questions

Whats up guys. I have been following this forum for the last month or so and seems like a cool place to kill some time and enlighten one with some good knowledge. I live in Tucson AZ. I have an 01 silverado RCSB, this is my first real car that I have bought my self and owned. So I try like anyone else to take care of it as much as I can. I have a 4" 6" drop with a couple of mods, headers, cold air, catback, flex-a-lite e fans, and a diablo sport tune. I will get right to some questions:

I need someone to enlighten me about torque converters someone who has some time to explain some general knowledge about this things. Till this day this is the one part that I really have not been able to understand mechanically. I know that the stall is important for you the engine to RPM at the highest possible torque range... right?

Also what is a TB bypass, how do you do it, and is it a good performance adder. Thanks look forward to hangin out here.
Old 12-06-2004, 01:45 PM
TECH Fanatic

welcome, and your right the stall is a very confusing thing. I can't even explain it but someone on here has a good link to hwere it does. the TB coolant bypass can be done, and is very easy. ALl that it is is redirecting the flow of coolant that does through your TB(which heats it up). the reason for doing this if you do not live in a cold climate it's not necessary but if you do it's to make sure the TB doesn't freeze.
Old 12-06-2004, 02:10 PM
11 Second Truck Club

Welcome to LS1Tech good question. I to want one and have a ? as well allready posted they seem to make these Trucks really haul. Some one will chime in soon that can answer you're ?.
Old 12-06-2004, 02:46 PM
Cuz I AM a BADMOFO