Notices
Tuning, Diagnostics, Electronics, and Wiring HP Tuners | EFILive | Hand Held Programmers | Stand Alone PCM's | Electronics | Wiring Diagrams

FX4 EDGE Tuning Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2010, 03:42 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FX4 EDGE Tuning Question

I bought a 04 FX4 today. I has a lot of modifications (Lift, Rims, Exhaust, CAI). I can assume from that list that it probably has been tuned also. If I buy an EDGE touchscreen tuner, do I need to get ford to reflash the computer before tuning it myself? Or can I just rewrite over the top of another program without any crappy side effects? I have no knowledge of how this stuff actually works.

Feel free to add any opinions or experiences from different handheld tuners. I have done handhelds and computer swaps and personally, I like having the handhelds better due to the ease of changing settings. I gained noticable horsepower from both of them so its kind of a dead heat in respect to performance gains.
Old 02-09-2010, 09:12 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

You'll really want to contact Edge about this...I know a Predator would not let you load a tune if the truck is not stock to start with, as that would likely have undesirable results.
Old 03-04-2010, 02:33 PM
Launching!

I doubt anything has been done to the computer if it just has lift, exhaust, and CAI
Old 03-24-2010, 03:48 PM
Teching In

If it has been tuned before with a chip, you need THAT programer to reset your trucks pcm back to stock. Most if not all chips are VIN locked. Once a vehicle has been modified with a programer, u need that same programer to get you back to stock. Once back to stock, the VIN locks come off and you can try another tuner..... I dont know this for 100%, but I have good friends that are mechanics and one works at Wester's Garage which is a vehicle tuning garage and I believe thats what they said to me when I asked about chips and tuners
Old 06-14-2010, 09:38 AM
I paid my buck-o-five