Notices
Tuning, Diagnostics, Electronics, and Wiring HP Tuners | EFILive | Hand Held Programmers | Stand Alone PCM's | Electronics | Wiring Diagrams

Need help! 5.3 running like crap after cam swap

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2016, 06:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help! 5.3 running like crap after cam swap

Hello all, this is my first time posting so Let me start off with telling you that I'm no professional and I've only learned how to work on vehicles by trial and error.

Here's the story, About a month ago I had a head gasket blow due to the cheap ebay gaskets I used when replacing both of my heads about 3 years ago (I know but I was on a budget and i learned my lesson). So since I was going to be pulling the heads I'd figure that I would replace the lifters and cam while I was in there in hopes to get rid of the lifter noise. In the end I decided to do a few extra upgrades: lunati cam 212/218 .531/.531 LSA/ICL: 113/109, lifters, and springs, new timing chain and cam gear, pacesetter shortys and a magna flow duel exhaust. I also got the heads milled,cleaned, and tested and got a nice set of Victor gaskets.

After the engine was put back together I started it and it wouldn't start unless I stepped on the gas and i soon as I took my foot off it would die. When it was running it felt like half the cylinders were misfiring and i had a large amount off white smoke coming from the exhaust. I double checked all wire connections Then i checked the new spark plugs and all of bank 2 still look new but all of bank 1 are carbon fouled. When I installed the cam I lined it up dot to dot but did not degree it but I doubt that would cause it to run that way. I going to do a compression test tomorrow but wanted to know if there is anything else I should do to diagnose this problem. Thanks for the help.
Old 01-19-2016, 09:11 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 36 Likes on 34 Posts