Notices
Tuning, Diagnostics, Electronics, and Wiring HP Tuners | EFILive | Hand Held Programmers | Stand Alone PCM's | Electronics | Wiring Diagrams

First time tuning. 4L80E swap tuning with HPtuners

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2013, 01:15 PM
Charlie Murphy!

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default First time tuning. 4L80E swap tuning with HPtuners

Okay, so the physical part of the 4L80E swap is done. I haven't done any wiring modifications or relay installs.

I have been told that it's possible to do a segment swap through HPtuners now.

I bought HPtuners and I haven't used it yet. So I'm a complete newb with that.

So I'm a little unclear on what to do.

First off, regardless of which way I go, I need to rewire for the 4L80E correct?

Like this:
Name:  35118D2C-9754-451B-975E-39BFC2BE8852-18020-00000857A9B0ABEB.jpg
Views: 6375
Size:  175.4 KB

Now, after that, it's either keep the 60E tune and wire in a relay (while also disabling codes P0785, P1860, and P1870) or contact HPtuners and have a segment swap done. If I go the segment swap route, do I wire in a second VSS sensor?

What's the advantage to either setup? With the relay, I would be disabling PWM. Is this possible with a segment swap? Do I need to find the correct OS for a segment swap or is this something HPtuners takes care of?

BeatdownZ gave me this link.

Keeping converter locked on 4l80e at 0% Throttle - HP Tuners Bulletin Board

I haven't downloaded the attached file but its my understanding that it's a tune for a stock 5.3L with a 4L80E. Would tuning my transmission be as simple as copying the data in that file?

I just started searching around and I haven't found a write up, per se. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be awesome. I'm eager to take my first steps learning about tuning.

Thanks fellas!
Old 01-08-2013, 02:03 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts