PROJECTS GALLERY Vehicle builds | Engine Swaps | Conversions | Installation write ups |

2003 Sierra 5.3L Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2014, 11:58 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Sierra 5.3L Turbo

Hey guys this is my first post on the forum and I thought id share my truck build. Keep in mind I’m new to the performance automobile world. Alright so I Started with my stock 03 Sierra 1500, when I first got it three years ago I put a cold air intake and exhaust on. Just the basics to get a little better flow. I've stuck with that setup till a month ago when I decided to try and build a turbo system for it. Having no experience with working with turbos I did a lot of forum searching and research. I decided that an sts style rear mount system would be the least complicated route to go when starting from scratch and not buying a kit. I ended up getting an on3 76mm turbo with their 44mm wastegate. I milled a custom T-4 Flange for the exhaust from stainless. Then bent up some stainless tube to mount the turbo right where the muffler would be. Once I had the turbo mounted I ran the oil from the port just above the oil filter.And since it was so far back I ran a scavenge pump to drain the oil back to the oil pan. The most difficult part was routing the charge piping back up to the throttle body. After staring at it for days I ran it along the passenger side and up through the wheel well. Very tight with my 33 inch general grabbers but to far no contact has been made.I bought a boost gauge and also a wideband O2 sensor and gauge to monitor my AFR. And went with HP tuners and got there pro interface. After about a week of dicking around with the tuning software trying to get my truck to run right I got it good enough to drive around at least without running lean under boost. (still a work in progress, tuning is proving to be a lot harder than it seemed) I was running out of fuel I thought at 7 psi so I put in some 36lb FAST injectors to boost the