INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

How do you go about building an engine?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2006, 07:07 PM
what a rush!

Received 28 Likes on 20 Posts
Thumbs up How do you go about building an engine?

"Well before I start, I better introduce myself. My name is Erik Koenig and I go by Racer7088 on some of these bulletin boards. I’ve been racing in some capacity for over 25 years from tractor pull and mud trucks to motocross to endurance racing to drag racing and everything in between. I raced with the SCCA, for over 15 consecutive years and basically stopped only when I started my engine building business and started working for the School of Automotive Machinists. I still have both jobs right now and am around racing engines of one type or another almost 16 hours a day. I’ve been lucky also to know many professionals in the racing industry. I attended Texas A and M University, in addition to the many I know through SAM who have people employed in every area of the engine building world.

So now for the meat and potatoes of why you're here. Building racing engines or even a weekend warrior street/strip engine! The FIRST thing I ask people is what kind of realistic budget do you have? I would say that if you don’t have this figured out you are just wasting your time and the people who are talking to you as well. The worst thing you can do is to try and do something if you are way out of line with your budget. Try and race in a class you can afford or you will always be mad about people outspending you. I know since I’ve been there so just keep that in mind before getting in way over your head in something you can’t afford to be competitive in.