INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

500hp 5.3l

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2016, 12:58 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 500hp 5.3l

Whats up fellas! I recently acquired a 5.3L (LM7). Im new to LS engines and I'm thinking Id like to push my 5.3 up to 500hp. Is that possible, without forced induction or blowers?

Looking for an all motor 500hp 5.3. If its possible, which is the best route to go. If not possible what would you guys recommend, to get the most out of my 5.3?

Sorry for all the questions, just trying to have a plan before i start breaking bread. This motor will be going in a '00 Silverado reg cab/short bed. Making a nice street truck.

Any guidance is appreciated.
Old 10-30-2016, 03:38 AM
8 Second Truck Club

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts

It can be done, but trying to do it N/A won't be a walk in the park. If you're thinking of doing it N/A for cost reasons, thats a mistake as you can easily make 500 hp with a turbo blower for a ton cheaper than what it'll cost to do it N/A.

If N/A, your gonna need some pretty big compression (possibly requiring better fuel that is readily available at the gas station), a nasty camshaft that's gonna need a loose as **** converter. RPM is what will get you to that 500 number. Be ready to have the valvetrain to support shift points approaching 8000 rpm. It's gonna take a very nice induction system (intake and heads that flow big numbers) and a dialed in exhaust system.

If you do it with a turbo or blower, you can literally bolt something on and not even have to touch the long block as long as it is in good shape.

Don't forget the fuel system as well. The cost of the fuel system will hinge on your decision of N/A, turbo or blower. The blower route will require the bigger of the 3 setups as you have to account for the power lost to drive the blower.