Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Ls swap Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2019, 02:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ls swap Questions

I practically have 0 experience or understanding of how to do an ls swap. The thought of swapping in 5.3 with a 4l80e into my 78 c10 has crossed my mind but I don’t necessarily know what exactly is needed for the swap. I know the basics but that’s about it. I want to learn more about the process and what to look out for and what will be needed before I actually try the swap. Unfortunately I am a broke college student so I want to keep around a 5k budget. Any tips/ info will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Error304; 10-30-2019 at 08:45 PM.
Old 10-30-2019, 02:42 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 1,444 Likes on 1,068 Posts

I would try to find a donor 2500 with the 6.0/4L80. Harness and trans tuning will already be appropriate, you will be ahead of the game engine wise and the swap will be easier because almost no additional wiring aside from the standalone conversion will be needed
Old 10-30-2019, 03:23 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts

Do the three wore mod to LS harness.
motor mounts.
conversion headers and exhaust.
tran crossmember mod.
driveshaft length change and the conversion u joint.
be redy to nuke the rear axle.
inline electric fuel pump.
good trans cooler.
electric fan setup.
the hardware to convert the electric speed sensor to manual style speedo and tach.
what ever else you want todo for gauges like oil, fuel lvl engine temp.

highly advise read and watch conversion videos until you pule and have night ares about ot.
Old 10-30-2019, 05:17 PM

Received 222 Likes on 148 Posts

What's the intentions of the truck? big power, or just a dependable cruiser?

simple route = carbureted LS on stand alone computers.
tougher route= EFI. not impossible, but more involved.