Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3 KB Supercharged Engine Dying

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2004, 07:38 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3 KB Supercharged Engine Dying

Recently Ive been misfiring on Cylinder 7. I checked the compression on cylinder 7 and found that it was down to 60 compared to 150 across the rest of the cylinders. Seeing that the plug was fouled and that there was lots of blowby in the catch can, it appears that this is 90% rings. ouch! (any thoughts) Part of the problem is that the KB mail order tune. that came with the SC didnt catch all the unique characteristics of the Engine and SC. I saw atleast 7lbs boost. Looking Back, I should have done some custom tuning after the fact.

So as an everyday driver I need your advice.

1) Have the pistons and rings upgraded as a 5.3 and continue with the Kenne Bell SC. I think this would be the lowest cost option and try to hit 10PSI boost with an intercooled install and dyno tuning. Would be nice to try out & report!

2)Go for the 408 stroker that has been discussed in several threads. (What is the history of the 408) At that time I dont think my SC would be as effective as aTurbo since the losses at 10PSI are around 50HP. If that's correct then Im headed towards getting an STS in the long term.

3) Also how long can I last with #7 cylinder down before the engine self destructs.(there is no smoke yet, konck on wood. I use M1 oil religiously and now watching my boost) If im to go with option 2, I need to last until at least spring before I can afford to do this.

Old 11-07-2004, 09:17 PM
TT-TECH Veteran