Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

2002 Tahoe

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2003, 08:55 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Tahoe

Hey, newbie here. Looks like a great place for info!! A little background, my wife has a 2002 Tahoe Z71, I've got a F350 crew cab dually and a 03 Cobra. I have a hoot modding them all!

Anyway, looking to do a few things for my wifes 5.3 Tahoe. 1st of all it has a steering wheel clunk, I've looked around and it seems to be that the shaft needs to be lubricated, does that sound about right? Also I'd like to do a few things to add some ponies. The truck is stock right now except for a magnaflow muffler and tip. Looking for a CAI and maybe do a cam or something. What are the biggest bang for the buck mods on these engines? I know with my Cobra anything you can do to up the air, in and out, helps out alot since it is FI. Not sure if the same holds true with a NA truck. I had a 97 ramair Trans AM vert which I did a few things to but that is the extent of my GM modding experience. I live a mile high so I don't make a whole lotta HP! Anyway, thanks for the help, looking forward to getting her truck to perform a little better! I'll post some pics soon, I've done a few appearance mods you might like. Thanks
Old 11-30-2003, 10:03 AM
TECH Senior Member

Welcome to the boards!

I would suggest a set of long tube headers, maybe a UPD lid or a Volant air induction. That will help it breath a little easier. A really nice upgrade would be a new torque converter, I would suggest a Yank TT2600 since it's a heavy truck. It also sounds like you want 100% drivability mods rather than just make it go faster. That converter is a really nice one and has excellent street maners. To top it all off you might look at a programmer like a Hypertech or Diablo if you plan on keeping it for some time.
Old 11-30-2003, 10:35 AM
Teching In