Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

Alignment Experts...

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2013, 03:30 PM
I have a gauge for that

Received 373 Likes on 254 Posts
Default Alignment Experts...

How bad is this?

Name:  20130604_164345Custom_zps6d82b06d.jpg
Views: 821
Size:  69.2 KB

The adjusters are maxed out trying to get the camber close, which is why the caster is so far off. Do I need to invest in those offset bushing/bolts or will this be fine?
Old 06-05-2013, 04:03 PM
High on diesel fumes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm not an expert by any means, but according to my research GM spec on caster is 3.75 plus or minus 1 degree. That 6.6 is way out of spec. Not sure what the effect would be.

What numbers are you shooting for on camber? GM spec is 0.25 plus or minus 0.5, so you have room on both sides to pull the UCA in some...
Old 06-05-2013, 04:05 PM
High on diesel fumes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If I understand the adjusters correctly, pulling the front one in some should decrease both camber and caster.
Old 06-05-2013, 04:16 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 133 Likes on 88 Posts

I am not an expert but from what I do know, here is my opinion of your settings above (along with the most recent setting on my truck granted it is 2wd):
Camber - should be slightly negative to account for a positive shift when going into a turn or on a hard launch with front end rise. (mine are -0.3L and -0.4R)
Caster - a good performance setting would be on the forward edge of stock settings which will allow a little firmer steering. Cross Caster should be -.25 to -.5 degrees (pass side farther out) to track straight on crowned roads. (my latest settings are 5.0L/5.3R)
Toe - dont really see anything wrong with your toe. A little inward toe will help with straight line tracking but too much will contribute to unnecessary tire wear. (my latest settings are 0.05L/0.04R)