Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

5"/7" Drop 2008 Silverado

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2011, 04:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5"/7" Drop 2008 Silverado

This is my first time to lower anything so i have some questions that are probably pretty easy to answer. I have a 2008 silverado and i wanna do a 5 7 drop on 24's. I have about 800 dollars to spend on a kit so i just wanna know if i need to notch it and what would be a good kit for me to run. Also what tires do i need to run to minimize rubbing as much as possible. I have 305/35/24 tires now which im guessing are way too big. Any help and advice would be really helpful. Thanks alot.
Old 09-12-2011, 06:34 PM
TECH Enthusiast

well the 5/7 too me on those are ideal height, IMO. I'd go with DJM suspension, good quality and looks pretty cool with the finish they use. it might be a little more than your looking to spend, but how i look at it is i'd rather spend the extra money and no i have quality parts. As far as the 24's go yes they are definitely gonna be to wide for up front and out back you might be able to squeeze them in there, im looking to get a 305 out back on my '02 so idk how much is different on the 08's. hopefully you got some what of what you were looking for?
Old 09-12-2011, 06:40 PM
TECH Regular

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

youre going to want a notch. the only reason i dont have a notch is because i went with helper bags. it doesnt hit as much but its still annoying when it does.
flip kit will get you 7"
4" djm arms and belltech drop struts set to 1" will get you 5" up front. and if you think it rubs too much up front you can always adjust the drop amount on the struts. you can get up to a 2'' drop or lift it 2" from the struts. pm norcal ss he can hook you up.