Notices
Tuning, Diagnostics, Electronics, and Wiring HP Tuners | EFILive | Hand Held Programmers | Stand Alone PCM's | Electronics | Wiring Diagrams

Allison Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2006, 11:04 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Allison Tuning

Finally got some feedback from Ross/Paul over at the EFILive forum about getting started with my Allison tuning. It was odd to me that they couldnt point me to the right table, but they did do the next best thing and tell me how to find the corrct table to adjust myself. I have been fumbling with trying to get some TM out of my Allison trany for a while now with no luck. It wasnt working using the changes that i had made so far, so i sent Ross/Paul an Email asking what to do, here was thier reply....

Hi Jimmie,

This is Paul here

I am not an Allison expert so I forwarded your original message on to Ross who knows far more about the Allison calibrations than I do (he designed them). Since I had not heard back yet, I just spoke with him on the phone. He said...

The trans settings in your PCM will be ignored and the Allison controller will control the Allison trans.

Torque management is controlled by the engine calibrations in the PCM, not in the Allison controller.

The best way to figure out which table(s) you need to alter to get rid of the spark retard on tran shifts, is to log all the spark DMA PIDs. Each spark DMA PID is named like this: {GM.EST_xxxx_DMA} where xxx is different for each PID.
If you right click each of those PIDs in the Scan Tool tab page [PIDs (F8)], and select More info... it will tell you which tables control the value of that PID.

So in your log file you need to find the PID's whose value changes with respect to the spark reduction during a shift. Then find the table that controls that PID and change that table.

Regards
Paul