THE TRUCK STOP General Chat area. Religion and politics topics will undoubtedly be deleted. Anything over PG-13 is not allowed. WORK SAFE!

Are you your own wrench?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2007, 11:30 AM
PT's Slowest Truck

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Are you your own wrench?

Just curious how many guys here do their own work, as well as other wrenching either for a living or on the side. I was pretty much under the impression that the majority of the members here were their own mechanics, but now I'm not sure after some of the comments that I've read. As for myself, I've done every repair and mod on my truck (and every vehicle I've owned since I was 15 when I bought my first Camaro for $300) myself, except for the items which were covered under warranty (which I diagnosed first before bringing it in). Prior to my current job, I was a Toyota Master Diagnostic Technician, until my back, right shoulder and elbow went kaput. Now I work for a Lexus dealer where I diagnose the majority of the problem cars, as well as do roadside assistance, fill in for the shop foreman when he's out, and occassionally fill in for service writers when we're short-handed. I also do some select side jobs on the weekends to help pay the bills and sometimes barter and trade (ie: I fix your car, you make invitations for my daughter's first birthday party...my latest barter).

So who else does their own stuff?
Old 07-17-2007, 11:33 AM
2nd fastest 5.3 ECSB

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I know better than to do my own work......Honestly, I wish I had the place and a little more mechanical knowledge. I admire those that can do it themselves. Damn, about have the cost of modding is labor!
Old 07-17-2007, 12:24 PM
Import Moderator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts