THE TRUCK STOP General Chat area. Religion and politics topics will undoubtedly be deleted. Anything over PG-13 is not allowed. WORK SAFE!

Praying for a Hurricane

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2010, 08:15 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Praying for a Hurricane

Lost my job of 2 years Friday. Work is slow. BTW I'm a 5th year apprentice with the IBEW (International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers-for those that dont know)....

I'm number 46 on the books, could be 3-6-9-12 months, who knows. Reason the title is about a Hurricane is because everytime we get one work really picks up. I have my lil 9 month old girl to think of now....

I've taken steps to get my state license-I have the 8000 hours just need to get all the paperwork done. I've also put in a few applications at some "non-union" shops to see what bites.

Basically, Financially, I should be fine. My wife and I own a hair salon employing 5 stylists (It is NOT a huge cash cow) but she is a stylist also and makes as much or usually more than I do. So shes working....and all the side-jobs I had are now maturing and I was able to stash a few grand away in the last 3-4 days. That was all the money I was going to use to build this LS1 and tranny for my '01. Just thankful I have it now. We do have over 3K worth of bills monthly so I have to "stay on my grind" as they say....

I've got some more leads on more sidework, so all is well as of now. The only thing I lack on getting my '85 silvys motor totally done is a gasket set and a cheap set of headers, which I've convinced myself I'm gonna go ahead and order. In the shape the truck is in now, they are selling for 4-5 grand around here. Right now though without a motor, probably $500 lol.