THE TRUCK STOP General Chat area. Religion and politics topics will undoubtedly be deleted. Anything over PG-13 is not allowed. WORK SAFE!

Honest opinions please.....on job

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2006, 09:57 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honest opinions please.....on job

OK so here is the deal.i have been working at my job for 5 years now building custom furniture, ie entertainment centers, bars, desks ect. I used to love it until about november we went from being 3 months behind to NOTHING to do. We have had some orders come in on and off nothing hard at all and about 3 weeks ago they cut my overtime, in which i lost about 600 bucks a month.

Now usually we are VERY busy during that time but we have been dead from about the first week in november and STILL are dead. i have gotten completly bored with my job and with havin nothin to do so i tend to drift off into la la land and think about how much i am getting screwed. i like workin there BUT the money sucks, the insurance plan sucks and NO retirement options or movment in the company, (small business.)

The more and more i think about it i am thinking it is time to move on and look for a different job. BUT after talking to some people that I know they say i should just stay where i am and be happy i at least have a job. there is nothing in the classifieds looking for anyone in my line of work.

I really don't know what to do....an opinions or other line of work i could use my skill in that you guys know of?

(you can see some of my work here --> http://www.contemporarywoods.com/)
Old 02-20-2006, 10:00 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Default Where are you located?

If youre in a good spot go into it for yourself! Work there and start taking off a few days and do work for ppl for cheaper than that place. Ive been in construction all my life and theres a lot of work out there. Just try it and get your name out, then if you want to, quit and keep doin what youre doin.
Just a thought. Good luck.