THE TRUCK STOP General Chat area. Religion and politics topics will undoubtedly be deleted. Anything over PG-13 is not allowed. WORK SAFE!

any pipewelders out there ????

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2007, 10:23 PM
Tig
TECH Fanatic

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default any pipewelders out there ????

I've been welding for about 7 years now. I have taken both vertical and overhead for structural to bridge code. I'm going to be taking a couple of tests to be certified in pipe welding. One in carbon steel and the other in SS.
Is there any tips, tricks or advice you guys can give me for the tests?
I'm planning on taking the tests Thursday.

Any and all info/advice would be much appreciated.

Old 11-06-2007, 11:35 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've welded a little bit. I weld on Nuclear Submarines for a living. Have not gotten into pipe though. I can stick weld in a mirror but can't tig w/ a mirror (to many moving parts 4 me,LOL) What are these tests like? Open root (w/purge), butt, or sleeve? Is the pipe fixed or can you move it around? What kind of NDT does it have to pass?
Old 11-07-2007, 09:45 AM
Tig
TECH Fanatic

Welding on Nuclear Subs, very nice. Do they need any other welders .

I'm finding out more about the specifics of the tests today. It was a last minute decision on my part, kind of spur of the moment.

What part of ME are you from? I'm just south of you right outside of Boston.
Old 11-07-2007, 09:46 AM
TECH Fanatic

If you're doing a pipe test, it most likely will be a 6G test. That puts the test piece on a 45 Deg. agle.It takes quite a bit of practice to get used to that, versus the standard vertical, horizontal, and overhead. Most are open root (3/32 to 1/8 gap), tig root, and hot pass, then fill with stick. It's trickey!!! Good luck!!!
Old 11-07-2007, 10:12 AM
Launching!

Originally Posted by Tig
Welding on Nuclear Subs, very nice. Do they need any other welders .