New Members Come in and introduce yourself.

96 Tahoe 5.7 Vortec engine mod ideas

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2020, 03:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 Tahoe 5.7 Vortec engine mod ideas

I am completely new to engine mods and completely dumb to how everything works, however I recently purchased a 6 in lift and would like a few more horses to spin some tires in the mud and maybe a little hauling. I have about a 2800 budget to play with. What would be my best setup to get max horses and performance from my build?

Last edited by Orlando Cepeda Palm; 06-30-2020 at 03:13 PM. Reason: Misspelled word
Old 06-30-2020, 05:45 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 549 Likes on 475 Posts

Gears. If you went with a lift and larger tires you need the gears to compliment that.

Depending on what you went with it probably needs 4.10's or 4.56's.

Tuning is kinda limited on those trucks but you can mod it in a million different ways. Those 350's have just about everything you want for bolt on parts. It's the fuel system side that and tuning that isn't really there. A common mod is switching to a newer P01 aka 411 computer and go with a port fuel injection intake manifold.
Old 06-30-2020, 07:34 PM

Originally Posted by FFDP
Gears. If you went with a lift and larger tires you need the gears to compliment that.

Depending on what you went with it probably needs 4.10's or 4.56's.

Tuning is kinda limited on those trucks but you can mod it in a million different ways. Those 350's have just about everything you want for bolt on parts. It's the fuel system side that and tuning that isn't really there. A common mod is switching to a newer P01 aka 411 computer and go with a port fuel injection intake manifold.
I need new gears on the rear end? I’m planning on running 33 tires. What other type of mods would you recommend, like I said I’m completely new to this.
Old 06-30-2020, 07:50 PM
TECH Senior Member

If the truck is a 4X4 you'd have to do both front and rear as they must match.