Notices
Midsize & Compact Trucks Suspension | Wheels | Tires | Drivetrain |Engine | Body

Not sure If this belongs....

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2012, 05:13 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not sure If this belongs....

Hey guys im new to this thread and trucks all together. I've had many fast cars over the years but was never into trucks. Well life caught up with me and I needed a truck. I started hanging out with some guys who were big into racing trucks...and now the speed bug has bit me again.

My truck is a 2007 tacoma single cab 2.7L 5 speed trans. I know this is not a
GM truck, but I looked in the import section and didn't look helpful. I will be swapping in a 5.3L and doing a single rear mount turbo. I'm also alot more comfortable with GM after building 3 GM cars.

I've been trying to do research but I really can't find anyone who has done this. I'm not sure if it's because it can't be done? Or just no one has? Lol
I guess the closest thing is a S10 5.7 swap which is why I am here.
Any hints or suggestions?

I already had a 5.3L from a 2004 Sierra with wiring harness and trans.
Old 10-05-2012, 06:35 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by WSix225
Hey guys im new to this thread and trucks all together. I've had many fast cars over the years but was never into trucks. Well life caught up with me and I needed a truck. I started hanging out with some guys who were big into racing trucks...and now the speed bug has bit me again.

My truck is a 2007 tacoma single cab 2.7L 5 speed trans. I know this is not a
GM truck, but I looked in the import section and didn't look helpful. I will be swapping in a 5.3L and doing a single rear mount turbo. I'm also alot more comfortable with GM after building 3 GM cars.

I've been trying to do research but I really can't find anyone who has done this. I'm not sure if it's because it can't be done? Or just no one has? Lol