INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

Explain Block Fill to me please

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2011, 11:41 PM
11 Second Hall Moniter

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Explain Block Fill to me please

I've seen it in catalogs, I've heard of racers using it. But I don't know what the stuff really is, and how can the cooling system in your engine possible work if it is filled?

Please educate me on block filling, what the process really is, and the pros & cons of it. Help me learn something new.

Thanks!
Old 05-07-2011, 11:50 PM
Mod with training wheels

Received 202 Likes on 138 Posts

I'm no expert, but I know its used to beef up the block for extreme duty. Diesel drag guys fill their blocks and only run coolant in the head because they don't run long enough to heat it up to the point of causing problems. For those running 150psi of boost on a recreational drag truck, filling the block helps. It does completely remove coolant from the block, depending on how high its filled, but either way its definitely not a daily driver mod.
Old 05-07-2011, 11:53 PM
13 Second Truck Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I believe its basically used to help the cylinder walls stay intact under high cylinder pressures.

Thats why Flaco races around Lil Sis all the time and not hayhauler, because it has no coolant.(atleast his old motor was)
Old 05-08-2011, 12:12 AM
11 Second Hall Moniter

Is the stuff a gel or a solid? Does it cure & then turn into a solid? I understand that it somehow strengthens the block and stabilizes the cylinders. I'm just trying to learn exactly what the stuff is and how it works. Sounds like a track only mod, can't run the engine for too long before engine temps get high.

Who has run a filled block, and how high do engine temps get? How long til it gets to those temps?
Old 05-08-2011, 12:21 AM
TECH Fanatic