Notices
GMT 900 Trucks General Discussion 2007 - 2013 Trucks | General Discussion

Confused about Blackbear Autocal Tunes

Old 12-01-2011, 11:32 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Confused about Blackbear Autocal Tunes

i've been reading countless forums about Blackbear Autocal tunes and have never read one bad thing about them. i think i'll pull the trigger on one, but i just have a few questions that are confusing. i'm new to trucks, and i read all of them faq on bbp.com. what exactly is the difference between pcm, ecm, tcm?????? i was reading, when you get your autocal, you plug in your tuner pcm to replace your stock pcm? is this true? is this how you are able to keep your stock pcm from flashing a footprint from a performance tune?

If somebody just recently purchased the bb autocal, can you please help? i have many questions and i know justin is very busy?

thanks
Old 12-02-2011, 09:26 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts

The Auto Cal is not a PCM (Power Command Module, engine and trans) ECM (Engine Command Module, Engine only) or TCM (Transmission Control Module, Trans only). Its a hand held programer. It is used to flash in performance tunes that Justin will write for you to your PCM/ECM/TCM depending on what yeat truck you have. It like a Hypertec, only uses custom written tunes for you application, not "canned" tunes
Old 12-02-2011, 09:56 AM
Baltimore Whore

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

His old tunes as well as alot of other mail tuned were a reflashed actual PCM that you swapped for yours.. Like KB said this is nothing of that nature.. He writes you a tune, sends it to you vial email. You upload it into the auto cal, then flash it to your pcm via the OBD port.. I think they can hold up to 3 diff pcm flashes/tunes..
Old 12-02-2011, 12:58 PM
Teching In

Thank u for the info guys
Old 12-02-2011, 03:13 PM
TECH Fanatic