Notices
GMT 800 & Older GM General Discussion 2006 & Older Trucks | General Discussion

Routing power cable through firewall

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2005, 12:25 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Routing power cable through firewall

Alright, I'm new to the whole late model GM truck scene...

Anyway, the F-body cars have a nice built-in secret hole underneath the PCM which makes it very easy to route wires, cables, etc. into the cabin of the car from the engine compartment.

I'm about to start installing some audio equipment left over from other cars into my '04 Silverado, and I want to know if there's any existing place large enough for a 4ga. power cable to go through the firewall. I don't want to drill a new hole if I don't need to.

Thanks guys!
Old 03-07-2005, 01:56 PM
I AM A MOTHERF*CKER

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

On the fire wall, between the master cylinder and the fender, you'll see a black rubber gromet about 2-2.5" across. That goes straight in to the cab -- there is a wiring harness coming through the existing center hole, so I just cut an additional hole in the grommet and passed through there.

It's a strange gromet -- it has an inner donut of hard rubber and a soft rubber boot. The boot is what needs surgery.
Old 03-07-2005, 03:05 PM
TECH Junkie

Cool. That will make things easier.
Old 03-07-2005, 04:17 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by GeorgeC
Cool. That will make things easier.