Notices
GMT 800 & Older GM General Discussion 2006 & Older Trucks | General Discussion

Insurance with Aftermarket Parts?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2012, 07:20 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Insurance with Aftermarket Parts?

Do you guys have extra coverage for your aftermarket parts on your truck? Is that even possible? I'm worried about putting all of this money into the truck (about the same amount as its blue book value or more), and getting into an accident where the truck is totaled. Correct me if I'm wrong, but the insurance only gives you back what the truck is worth, correct? Or will they take into consideration aftermarket parts?

This happened to my brother when he totaled his Cobra when some moron cut him off. He had a few thousand dollars of aftermarket parts on it. I think the insurance company let him go to the yard and pull off some things, but he lost most of it.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? Experiences? I'm a decent driver but can't say the same for some people out there
Old 09-16-2012, 07:30 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

most insurances say they won't cover aftermarket products, period.

some will say, "if it is bolted to the vehicle, then it is part of the vehicle"

but all will argue with you about it when the price tag of replacing stolen or damaged parts gets up there because they are in business to make money.

My policy is one that they say covers bolted onto the vehicle, but they also offer an added coverage of up to $5,000 for non-factory items... which I have add.

I'm not really sure for a totaled out accident. I think they just do low blue book value.
Old 09-16-2012, 08:28 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post