Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Progress pics on my VHP cam and rocker install

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2005, 06:30 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Progress pics on my VHP cam and rocker install

Items being installed:
VHP 045 "THE TRUCKER" 216/224 .551 115lsa
VHP "accelerated lift roller rockers" 1.8 (1.89) ratio
chromoly pushrods
dual springs, titanium retainers

So far, the install has gone smoothly, with help of reading countless cam install threads and the article on www.ls1howto.com. Here is where I'm at right now after about 6 hours (its my first time... and its only me ) Basically stripped down now and ready to swap out the cam (16 pen magnets handy ) and springs. Then its a matter of setting up the rockers and reassembling everything.

stock rockers/pushrods/rails:

After reading up on dual timing chains and oil pumps, it seems more like a high mileage, "just for good measure" thing....and I'm not going to be breaking any HP records with my setup, so I think the stock chain and pump will be fine for now.

If anyone has any tips on setting up these rockers, let me know. I've read about 3 or 4 slightly different methods on getting the proper preload, etc. After I'm done I'll try and post some more pics and pointers of the installation as well.

Last edited by O3GMC; 08-09-2005 at 02:08 PM.
Old 08-03-2005, 06:40 PM
TECH Enthusiast

This will be a good thread, This information will be handy this winter when I am going to install the same cam & rockers.
Old 08-03-2005, 06:46 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by O3GMC
Items being installed:
VHP 045 "THE TRUCKER" 216/224 .551 115lsa
VHP "accelerated lift roller rockers" 1.8 (1.89) ratio
chromoly pushrods
dual springs, titanium retainers
*dual adjustable timing chain
*blueprinted oil pump

*I may skip these and sell them for meth kit $$