Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Help me out, i'm new to the truck world

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2006, 02:55 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me out, i'm new to the truck world

I have an 05 Silverado 1500 ecsb 4x4 w/ the L33 5.3l motor. I decided to make it fast instead of lifting it because i'm gettin a raptor in may so there's no point in abusing my truck offroading.

I used to have a 98 z28 and i miss the speed it had. Are these trucks about the same when modding the motor as the ls1's or do i need to learn all over again?

The only mod so far is a flowmaster 40 series, 3" in dual 3" out with 4" tips.
Can you guys help me out as far as what the best way is to go. I dunno if i want a supercharger turbo or spray, whats the safest and what has the most potential?

btw it has the g80 code so it has posi right?
Old 12-13-2006, 03:10 PM
TECH Junkie

The g80 is a lsd but if your gonna up the power look to upgrade it very soon as they tend to be on the weak side.
Lots of good lsd's out there though. Get a replacement Eaton not the g80 of course lol. Maybe a detriot trutrac just up to you.
They are basically the same for modding vs the ls1.
They like cams for sure. A nice cam in it with some longtubes will give you some really nice power.
Of course bolt on always help. E-fans give a nice jump in power.Not on a dyno but in the end it frees up alot of power throughout the band and normally drops a truck 2-3 tenths with ease.
A nice convertor will wake it up off the line but most of all a good tune will make a big differance in teht ruck as the torque management holds it back by alot.
Old 12-13-2006, 07:41 PM
TECH Junkie

His 05' Silverado should already have e-fans.
It really depends on what you have to spend.
Will you be doing the installs?
A stock Radix (unaltered, like pulley downsize) kit will work great on the truck without any other mods.