Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

any solid roller trucks out there?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2007, 10:22 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default any solid roller trucks out there?

I have most of the stuff to make the next motor solid roller, and also have lifters etc to do hyd. just wondering if there are any solid roller trucks running around right now.
Old 05-28-2007, 01:00 AM
TECH Fanatic

Don't know of any but I don't think anyone would really recommend going solid roller if your truck is anything less than a drag/race only truck.
Old 05-28-2007, 03:42 PM
Banned

why is that? the added RPM and valvetrain stability would be great.
Old 05-28-2007, 03:45 PM
Mr. Obvious

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

im no expert by any means but with a solid roller, dont you have to adjust the tappets ALL the time, or was that just on the old gen 1 motors
Old 05-28-2007, 05:12 PM
Banned

thats just a myth really, maybe it was a more frequent thing on the more radical motors, but i've known/seen motors go 10k plus miles without adjustment and be fine.
Old 05-28-2007, 06:12 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by 405hpta
thats just a myth really, maybe it was a more frequent thing on the more radical motors, but i've known/seen motors go 10k plus miles without adjustment and be fine.

In my experiance, i'd disagree with this. Could be just me though. In my street car i adjusted them every oil change and they were always out of adjustment.

In my buddies circle track car that ran 50 laps per week ( 1/3 mile oval ) we'd adjust them every other week with the oil change.

Obviously since we were changing the oil that frequently ( it was needed, it would be as thin as water and black ) the circle track engine saw abuse.... but in either case, every oil change was the interval, and it was never a waste of time. They always were out of adjustment.
Old 05-28-2007, 06:24 PM