Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

383 stroker

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2012, 09:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 383 stroker

To start off I am very new to the idea of actually building an engine by myself as the most intensive thing I have ever done on a vehicle is swap an alternator, radiator, or water pump on a small 4 cylinder nissan hardbody, so by all means I am open to any suggestions or advice someone more knowledgeable then myself can impart on me. I do however have access to all the need equipment to actually do the build myself. My main concern is where should I start and if there is an alternative which would be better for my truck for the plans I have for it such as an LQ4 or 9 while I'm building on a budget of around 4500 dollars.

I have a 99 silverado with a 5.3 LM7 and a 4l60e transmission that have right at 260,000 miles on them and the truck is my daily driver and will be once the engine is built and installed. I'm not gonna have more then a few days tops once I pull my old engine out to install the new one so I am going to have to buy a new block to have on the side to build on then just swap them out over a weekend.