Post Whipple install - my feedback

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2016, 06:35 AM
TECH Addict

Received 371 Likes on 299 Posts
Default Post Whipple install - my feedback

So,

I'm a week post my Whipple install.

Mechanically, the install appears to have been done well. I have no complaints.

Tuning wise, well, I have some complaints/problems. Please keep in mind, I'm a novice tuner, at best but I do understand map, maf, sd, stoich, wot, kr and afr.

With that being said,

Part throttle driving:

I've done some logging over the last few days and immediately noticed that even at part throttle, light acceleration (under 40% throttle) that my afr would dip into the 9's. If I pressed the peddle harder, it would lean out to 11.2-11.5, which is where I would expect it to be for WOT. My fuel mileage is crap. I only managed 156 miles on the last tank.

I modified "PE Enable - MAP" to 85KPA. It was at 70KPA and I found that even light throttle acceleration, it would hit 70KPA easily and my afr would dip. It's better now. Part throttle accelerations are staying pretty close to stoich now along with highway cruising. Suggestions for this are welcomed as well. When I was NA, I just used pedal % as the trigger. It seemed to work well.

WOT

She rips the tires off if I stab it from a stop. I have to feather the pedal to keep from ripping the tires off. I have no wheel hop (didn't before the install). Part throttle jumps are instant and feels very effortlessly. AFR holds steady between 11.2-11.5.

Shifting

Shifting appears to be fine except for one issue. If I stab it in an attempt to pass, rpm's will hang for a few seconds and the truck won't shift. I think this is an issue with gear, tire size, shift points calibration. I'll have to wait until I get my interface back (sent it out yesterday to get upgraded to the PRO).

Timing