Notices
8-Lug Truck Performance Duramax, 8.1L, and HD tech | Intakes | Exhaust | Tuning | Suspension | Drivetrain

Going to buy LB7 Dmax

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2006, 09:59 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going to buy LB7 Dmax

I have a few main questions
1) How much pwr/tq can a stock bottom end handle SAFELY

2) I'm going to finance about 110%, so will be left with around $3,000 for mods- what to do for most power?

3) I'm new to diesels, but have seen some pretty sick ones around, what kind of money would I have to invest to have a low 13-high 12 second truck?

4) I sorta like stacks, and have noticed a lot of the faster truck run them, is there actually any advantage to them?
Old 08-31-2006, 12:14 AM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by Bowtiered
I have a few main questions
1) How much pwr/tq can a stock bottom end handle SAFELY

2) I'm going to finance about 110%, so will be left with around $3,000 for mods- what to do for most power?

3) I'm new to diesels, but have seen some pretty sick ones around, what kind of money would I have to invest to have a low 13-high 12 second truck?

4) I sorta like stacks, and have noticed a lot of the faster truck run them, is there actually any advantage to them?
1 - There is no SAFE modded power, however the Duramax will be solid driven daily in the mid 400's. Once you cross 500 daily your wear cycles will increase. That being said, mine has been run at 500 plus daily driven horsepower for over three years with nary a problem and pushed up to 835 HP at the wheels at times. Be prepared to pay if you want to play though.

2 - Three grand would be enough to do a budget DIY Transgo and a converter trans upgrade and a good race program if you squeak out some good deals

3 - Getting a Duramax into the 12's will take a minimum of 5K if not closer to 7 or 8K to do it right

4 - Stacks are just for looks.
Old 09-01-2006, 12:03 AM
TECH Apprentice