Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just your everyday cam swap

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2015, 06:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just your everyday cam swap

Hey guys,

I am buying a 2000 Silverado 5.3 auto, single cab short bed stepside. I really want to do a cam swap. I honestly don't care at all about how much HP or TQ it makes, I just want the most lopey idle possible. I really don't want to upgrade the torque converter or stall, just sounds like such a pain in the a**. What would you guys recommend for this? Best sound possible, just want a really sick idle. I am gunna through some long tubes and an intake on it as well. Also, this being my first LS motor, I am assuming it will need a tune. Since this seems to be a common swap, can I just get one of those diablosport programmers and have an LS tuner send me a email tune? Thanks a lot guys. I'm a diesel mechanic for the military, so I know how to turn a wrench or two.
Old 11-08-2015, 09:29 AM
TECH Addict

Received 371 Likes on 299 Posts

Originally Posted by usachasen
Hey guys,

I am buying a 2000 Silverado 5.3 auto, single cab short bed stepside. I really want to do a cam swap. I honestly don't care at all about how much HP or TQ it makes, I just want the most lopey idle possible. I really don't want to upgrade the torque converter or stall, just sounds like such a pain in the a**. What would you guys recommend for this? Best sound possible, just want a really sick idle. I am gunna through some long tubes and an intake on it as well. Also, this being my first LS motor, I am assuming it will need a tune. Since this seems to be a common swap, can I just get one of those diablosport programmers and have an LS tuner send me a email tune? Thanks a lot guys. I'm a diesel mechanic for the military, so I know how to turn a wrench or two.