TOOLS & FABRICATION Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding

Looking For Metal Fabricator Houston/Spring Area

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2019, 11:43 AM
TECH Regular

Received 23 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Looking For Metal Fabricator Houston/Spring Area

Like the title states.

Need some stainless steel exhaust piping welded up.
Got my truck running but wanted to do a custom dual corsa extreme exhaust, but cant seem to find anyone local willing to fabricate exactly what i want, and on top of it charging two arms and a leg.

Ive got headers, and X pipe already installed, i would just need two straights, then welded to both mufflers, and the pipes to exit in front of the rear wheel.

Id be willing to cut everything and provide material if need be, just dont know how to weld, much less SS.

Thank you!
Old 06-18-2019, 12:04 PM
On The Tree

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

If you don't mind me asking, how much are they charging you? I weld for a living and quality work does cost more than a regular Joe shmo exhaust shop. For a 3" purged weld on exhaust a minimum of $30 a weld isn't too bad. Just some food for thought.
Old 06-18-2019, 12:56 PM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by Resolute_welding
If you don't mind me asking, how much are they charging you? I weld for a living and quality work does cost more than a regular Joe shmo exhaust shop. For a 3" purged weld on exhaust a minimum of $30 a weld isn't too bad. Just some food for thought.
At that rate its more than fair, but the last shop i took it to quoted me 1400 bucks, including material, so around 1k in labor

The amount of welds are maybe 10 tops, and thats me including 2-4 extra welds.
Old 06-18-2019, 01:16 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 1,433 Likes on 1,061 Posts

Originally Posted by Resolute_welding
I too weld for a living, and I dont fire up my personal machines for less than 30/weld. Aluminum bungs are $40 a piece, for example