INTERNAL ENGINE MODIFICATIONS Valvetrain |Heads | Strokers | Design | Assembly

How do I find TDC without removing timing chain?

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2013, 05:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I find TDC without removing timing chain?

Hey, I'm new to the thread.

I have 2000 5.3L single cab. CAI, LTs, exhaust custom tune

I was going to install my new 1.8 rockers and springs next weekend. Cam will come later when funds permit.

The number one cylinder has to be at tdc to set the preload then the other 14 rockers are tq 22ftlbs
Old 04-07-2013, 06:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Take the number one plug out.(first plug on driver side) and bump the till you hear a blowing sound come out.you be able to tell. Or you can get a 22 or 24 shocker and turn the engine over by hand.but it way easier to bump the hey over till to hear it blow air out then you can move it till lines up on the marks on the timing cover.
Old 04-07-2013, 06:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Make sure you bump the key and don't start the engine
Old 04-07-2013, 06:21 PM

That makes sense hearing the air come out as the piston pushes it out.

I forgot to mention the truck came with an ASP under drive pulley and there are no marks on the pulley to match up to the timing cover. How would I be able to tell it is exactly tdc, not just close, once I bump it and hear the air come out?
Old 04-07-2013, 06:24 PM
I have a gauge for that

Received 373 Likes on 254 Posts

Theres not an exact way without taking the head off and putting a dial indicator on the piston.

However, the keyway on the crank that keeps the crank timing gear in place will point to cylinder 1 when it is at TDC (about 1 oclock).
Old 04-07-2013, 06:54 PM

I have a pulley puller! The line/indicator on the crank is visible outside of the timing cover?
Old 04-07-2013, 07:00 PM
I have a gauge for that

Received 373 Likes on 254 Posts

Dont think so.
Old 04-07-2013, 07:26 PM
TECH Enthusiast