Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

spending money to go fast?

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2005, 05:07 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default spending money to go fast?

I am going to spend about 10,000 on my 2001 5.3 silv. Was wondering whathings should I do to get the best results. I plan on putting a supercharger on and was wondering what do I need to do to keep from damaging the engine and transmission? Thanks
Old 02-26-2005, 06:43 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Built tranny. Radix or STS turbo.
Old 02-26-2005, 10:21 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by quicksilverado
Built tranny. Radix or STS turbo.
why a turbo over a supercharger? If someone could be a little more specific that would be great. I'm new at modding my vehicles I'm definetely starting to get hooked on mods. Any other ideas?
Old 02-26-2005, 10:35 AM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by sixatd80
why a turbo over a supercharger? If someone could be a little more specific that would be great. I'm new at modding my vehicles I'm definetely starting to get hooked on mods. Any other ideas?
Do a search. This has been discussed numerous times. One quick reason is that turbo's make max power sooner than the centrifugal and dont have the parasitic loss associated with all superchargers. Welcome to the site and get your checkbook ready
Old 02-26-2005, 11:10 AM
Truck addict

is this money you have in hand or is this going to be a progression? like stated above, this has been discussed a lot and there are several roads to take.

If i had that kinda money in hand, i would do a 6L with cam and heads, upgrade the tranny, bolt ons, tune and then maybe search for a used supercharger. granted, i haven't done the math but i am sure if you keep an eye out for used parts you could do it.
Old 02-26-2005, 12:40 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by goshawk23