Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Newbie Needs Direction

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2004, 11:13 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Needs Direction

Ok so I am a total newbie to the 5.3 in my silverado although I can rework a 5.7 blindfolded. I am tired of getting walked on by the local lightenings. We all know chevrolet makes a superior motor for musceling up and if our factory started strapping on superchargers to everything GM performance oriented there wouldn't be much competition anymore. (Ford's philosophy - take a weak engine, supercharge it, and make it comperable to a normal GM performance powerhouse) Ok so venting aside I need to know if I am headed in the right direction. I want every cent I spend to be as beneficial as it possibly can be. For the time being I am going to be focusing on beefing up the drive train and taking the factory restrictors off of what I hear is a really strong engine (5.3) Im not interested in block swaps or nitro or superchargers of any sort at this time. When I build my engines they need to be all cube horsepower unassisted by boost or nitro.(that way when you finally walk on someone who is boosted you really can rub it in) So please expericed guys review my list of what I am about to spend my hard earned on and critique what could be done better or better parts or whatever you feel like I need to know and in return I will be a true loyalist to the GM Performance Truck scene.

I have one question to begin. Is the 5.3 a variance on the LS1? (like is it a cast iron smaller cube LS1?) and if so what rotating assemblies will interchange?

below is the list of what I plan on doing over the winter months. Please critique my plans and suggest anything you feel like can be done better.

1. The Other Guys long tube ceramic coated headers
2. Corsa Stainless single side exit non-touring exhaust