Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

Daily driven trucks with converters

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2014, 10:23 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Daily driven trucks with converters

I'm about to add a 3000 rpm converter and a custom FTI cam/springs to my ls6 setup, that's destined for my 03 rcsb silverado. I'm hesitant on the tc because I've never modified an engine with an auto before. So I have no experience with converters.

I've driven in stalled automatics before, and it felt as if the clutch was slipping while we cruised around town slowly. Then at wot it yanks you back in the seat, which is great. But I don't want my truck to be a pig on light/part throttle.

I currently don't tow anything. Is a 3000-3200rpm stall going to drive me crazy in a daily driver? (It's actually just a weekend driver)

How will this effect gas mileage?
Old 03-03-2014, 11:59 PM
On The Tree

Convertors have came along way over the years. I think 3000-3200 is perfect for street use
Watch a couple youtube videos of trucks with stall convertors and i think you will get a better ideal of driveablity
Old 03-04-2014, 12:57 AM
Staging Lane

I have a 3200 stall in my '04 rcsb. I cant keep my foot off the floor lol, so I see about 13mpg average. But it will get 16+ if I drive like a normal person. You will regret not doing a stall especially with a cam. It will be a real pig from a dig and slow rolls with a stock one. It will be fine at part throttle also. I can still pull my Camaro with it too.
Stalled auto > stock stall

Last edited by Badlands; 03-05-2014 at 03:55 AM.
Old 03-04-2014, 01:01 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

3-4 low speed lockup - YouTube

4600 stall converter with a good tune.

http://youtu.be/gxQuwmuWXDM

This is a 5000lb truck with ~1000lbs of extra weight.
Old 03-04-2014, 08:28 AM

Received 61 Likes on 60 Posts