Notices
GM Drivetrain & Suspension Chassis | Transmission| Driveshaft | Gears/Rear End/Differential | Traction Aids

80e swapped now problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2018, 09:22 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 80e swapped now problems

I finished my 60e to 80e swap but now I have some problems maybe you guys can help me with. It shifts smooth and all gears seem to work normal. Here are my problems I noticed during my one short drive..
1. P1810 code comes on even after being cleared.
2. The torque converter would try to lock for a split second then unlock.
3. The 3600 stall is acting more like a 2500 stall.
4. If I hold the brake and give it gas it sounds like the converter disc or something is slipping or dragging. Also I cannot get they rear tires to spin while doing this.
5. There is a whining noise when taking off.
6. There is a whistling noise when truck is stopped and in gear, maybe it was in park I don't remember.

I have hptuners but I'm new to it. Does anyone have any suggestions? I did the segment swap myself but i don't think that's the problem.
Old 03-13-2018, 11:24 AM
On The Tree

did you rewire your transmission plug for the 4L80?
Old 03-13-2018, 11:44 AM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by ToBiN!
did you rewire your transmission plug for the 4L80?
Yes and added the vss wires.
Old 03-13-2018, 11:49 AM
Staging Lane

Also when I took the pan off to do the hd2 kit I noticed someone punched a hole in the pan to drain it at some point but they also punched right through the filter and busted the plastic pickup tube into pieces.. Maybe some plastic pieces got sucked into the pump and it is being restricted? I bought the 80e used but i no longer trust anything the seller told me about it.
Old 03-13-2018, 01:59 PM
On The Tree