Dodge Engine & Exhaust Performance All EFI, Hemi, Magnum, 4.7, 5.9

Modded vs stock performance. Figure this one out?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2005, 12:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Modded vs stock performance. Figure this one out?

Bear with me on this, this part leads up to the reason for this post. Last week I decided to put the stock muffler and tailpipe back on, I got tired of the drone from the DI/DO Magnaflow muffler. I got a Flowmaster Y pipe and Magnaflow tip for the installation and had them all installed. I figured I would lose peformance but my ears are happy so oh well. Yesterday I decided to remove the Airaid MIT I was using and reinstall the Hemi Hat making my intake stock except for the Ram-Air mod I've had to quite a while. I wanted to see what the truck would run basically stock except for the Superchips. When I got my Superchips, I tested both the 87 and 91 tunes. I posted a thread here showing my findings, the 91 tune was only slightly better than the 87 tune on my truck. When I did the Superchips testing, I had the MIT and Magnaflow exhaust on the truck. My best 87 tune time was 0-60 in 6.70 and the 1/4 in 15.18. My best 91 tune time was 0-60 in 6.67 and the 1/4 in 15.15. These runs were all done with a G-tech Pro.
Now the reason for this post! Tonight with the stock exhaust and basically the stock intake (except for Ram-Air which I had for the previous testing too) my G-tech time was 0-60 in 6.68 and the 1/4 in 15.13.. This is with the 87 tune. I was shocked! The truck "feels" good but it's obviously quieter with the stock exhaust on so it doesn't "sound" as fast. The 0-60 time is faster than my previous best by .02 seconds and 1/4 time is faster than my previous best by .05 seconds. Where's the performance loss from taking off the Magnaflow muffler and the Airaid MIT?? Any thoughts?
Jim
Old 10-12-2005, 03:32 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts