Notices
Classic Trucks '47-'98 GM Trucks - Performance | Conversions | General Discussion

Edlebrock 650 CFM (Electronic Choke) Tuning help! (on 1972 pickup)

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2009, 10:41 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Edlebrock 650 CFM (Electronic Choke) Tuning help! (on 1972 pickup)

Hello, I have a 1972 K-20 4x4 with a 350 small block with a 650 cfm Edelbrock 4bbl carb. It runs great and idles fine, but if I punch it, the engine sputters, then "comes to life." I would like to eliminate the sputter, I am thinking that when I mash the pedal the secondaries are temporarily flooding the carburetor? And if this so be the case how would I go about tuning it to fix this? I am fairly new to carburetors so any help would be greatly appreciated.

(More details about my truck in my signature.)
Old 03-30-2009, 07:00 AM
TECH Regular

Have you ran the throttle by hand with the engine off looking down in the carb at the secondaries? Its possible that they are gummed up from not normally being open. If this is a new problem that came up, I would look it over well, if you see that they kinda flip open under pressure, I would use a can of carb/choke cleaner while running the engine and blipping the throttle.

There are a ton of other questions too. How old is the carb? How old is the coil, plugs, wires, cap rotor... But I'm sure you covered those.
Old 03-30-2009, 08:45 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you might have to re-jet the carb . . .

look down it with the engine off, open the blade and watch how the fuel gets dumped in. It could be a combination . . . jets - too big/small or gummed up. Do you know the size of the float valves?

any backfires when you get on it or at the top end ?
Old 03-30-2009, 12:49 PM
Teching In