STEREO & ELECTRONICS Audio Components | Radars | Alarms | General Wiring

Sound deadener; How much and where

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2012, 07:40 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sound deadener; How much and where

I'm planning to get my stuff from Sounddeadenershowdown.com Problem is I don't know how much I need or where to concentrate my efforts to have the greatest impact on both noise reduction and sound quality. Since I'm not a hardcore audiophile and and just want the truck to be quiet and enhance the music, I believe I'll be fine with his CLD tiles and the mass loaded vinyl. Does anyone agree or is the CCF something I should really consider as well? How much of both am I going to need to have it work properly in my 01 Sierra extended cab? Where should I be placing the tiles on these trucks? I'm new to these trucks and don't know where they are lacking in sound control. I figure the roof and back wall are possibly good locations. Then there are the doors of course. Just looking for some guidance.

Thanks
Old 06-07-2012, 09:36 AM
TECH Veteran

I used Fatmat when I did my old 02 but honestly any place you can manage to put it is going to help. The roof is probably one of the biggest ones to try and focus on since it's one of the areas where the metal is the thinnest and you get a lot of vibration and loss of sound there.

Here are a few pictures of when I did mine.

Old 06-09-2012, 12:30 AM
On The Tree

Im in the process of putting second skin in my ext cab, its the best product ive ever seen. I got 32sqft of their b-stock damplifier and 30sqft of b-stock damp pro with roller for around $250. From the looks of the amount of dampner I got I should have plenty to do my truck.
Old 06-09-2012, 01:52 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Raam audio, best there is IMHO. Talk to Rick, he has been doing this for years.