PerformanceTrucks.net Forums

PerformanceTrucks.net Forums (https://www.performancetrucks.net/forums/)
-   GM Engine & Exhaust Performance (https://www.performancetrucks.net/forums/gm-engine-exhaust-performance-21/)
-   -   what is the best exhaust cutout to get? (https://www.performancetrucks.net/forums/gm-engine-exhaust-performance-21/what-best-exhaust-cutout-get-213921/)

ohohsilverado 09-08-2004 08:52 PM

what is the best exhaust cutout to get?

What is the best exhaust cutout to get and where would i buy it from. I would like to get an electric one. Also, do i mount it in front of the muffler or the catalytic converter? If its in front of the cat do i need a computer tune. If so what should i get and where. Im a newbie and it seems like its been hard to get answers to some of my questions. Any help would greatly be appreciated. BTW-my truck is a 2000 rcsb 5.3l.

Slammed-am 10-11-2004 06:48 PM

streetpro

ohohsilverado 10-11-2004 07:07 PM

thanks a lot man

O3GMC 10-11-2004 07:09 PM

streetpro

or

dmhperformance

I have the DMH and its been great - street pro's stainless cutout and lever setup might be better...do a search and you'll probably find feedback.

Slammed-am 10-11-2004 09:45 PM

Originally Posted by ohohsilverado
thanks a lot man

No prob, The way I see it, the top two are the qtec and the newer streetpro. I have heard that the qtec's motors will crap out on you and just aren't as reliable in general. Their main advantage is the cost. Streetpro has my vote because it is frickin' prettier and it is better with ground clearance due to the flush design. I have heard that the motor is stronger and lasts longer. Also, the streetpro's open in 2 seconds whereas the qtecs take a full five seconds to open. That is a big one for me. And the switch for the qtec isn't as nice imo. All of the advantages of the streetpro justify it's pricetag.

Street pro
+good for clearance
+nice looking (not that it realy matters)
+superior design
+stronger/ more relaible motor