Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone Towing with Turbo 5.3 /6.0 ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2018, 06:22 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone Towing with Turbo 5.3 /6.0 ?

I am putting together a custom build for a Chevy 3500 work truck,9000lb loaded for work,and towing a 12k lb. equipment trailer about twice a week.However,80 % of mileage is unloaded back and forth,where minimal power is needed.

I am not going with diesel.Most towing is done on flat terrain,short trips up to 75 miles.

It is a compromise.My power needs can be wildly different,but I don't want to be burning up a ton of fuel just to have the power for when I need it less than 10% of the time. I have a 6.0 with 300K on it that I get by with.

I want to build a 5.3 turbo motor.I will switch completely to an e85 fuel system. I have plenty of fab experience and shop to work in. I also have an LSA supercharger on the shelf.I also have buddies with high HP turbo strip cars,but they obviously build for different purposes and RPM range.I need some grunt lower in the power band,and limit the RPM range to under 5500.

I am looking if someone has any experience with something like this. It is the long term reliability I wonder about.I have been poking around at LS1Tech for a little while now,and have a pretty good understanding of where to head on this.
Old 04-18-2018, 09:20 AM

Received 61 Likes on 60 Posts

I dont have any first hand experience with it, but I dont think you can go wrong with either.

The blower will have more "power under the pedal" as soon as you touch it. The turbo will work very well while loaded as well.