FORCED INDUCTION Turbos | Superchargers | Intercoolers | H2O/Meth Injection

Magnacharger Radix theory

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2013, 07:13 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Magnacharger Radix theory

First off, let me preface this post by saying I am by no means discounting the engineering work the people at Magnacharger did to come up with the Radix MP112 supercharger system for our trucks. It is an awesome system for people looking for more "bolt-on" power that is reliable.

Anyways, being a mechanical engineer myself, I always am thinking about how things work and if it could be made better suited to my needs. Because this is a mass produced system marketed for the masses, I feel the Radix system has its obvious performance limitations. I know everyone will say the Eaton MP112 is not efficient at higher boost, has high IATs, doesn't pull after 70 MPH or so, but I think, for my combination, we can make some improvements.

One thing that everyone will say about the Radix system is its awesome low end torque! There is no questioning it, however, in more performance oriented applications, I think this can actually be a downfall of the system. From my research it seems that all MP112 systems come with the same base. This base has a "long runner" design, which if anyone is familiar with the 80's TPI engines, promotes torque, but limits high(er) RPM breathing. Also, because of these long runners, the intercooler "exit" is effectively blocked so under boost, the air exiting the intercooler hits a wall and has to take a 90* turn to get into the runners. It also limits the size of the intercooler that can be packaged.

Name:  LongRunners_zps1a4f0f6a.jpg
Views: 1864
Size:  107.3 KB