PerformanceTrucks.net Forums

PerformanceTrucks.net Forums (https://www.performancetrucks.net/forums/)
-   FORCED INDUCTION (https://www.performancetrucks.net/forums/forced-induction-159/)
-   -   heat exchanger modification (https://www.performancetrucks.net/forums/forced-induction-159/heat-exchanger-modification-552004/)

TXsilverado 03-07-2018 06:03 PM

heat exchanger modification

First, I have zero experience or knowledge on how a radiator or heat exchanger actually works, and I really don't care lol.

I'm looking at the frozenboost type 101 heat exchanger, but it comes with 1/2" female NPT threads. My entire coolant system for my blower is run in 12an. can I simply drill out the female threads and weld in a 12an male fitting, or am I over simplifying this? and when I say "I weld it in" I mean "I pay someone else to weld it in":rage:

Air to Water Heat Exchanger

Or, is it not worth my time worrying about the bottle neck and I should just slap an adapter in it and go....it seems like it defeats the expense of running all 12an lines through my overflow and to the blower.

arthursc2 03-07-2018 07:24 PM

I'd drill em out and get some -12 weld bungs. I charge $30/bung so I imagine welders in your area are close to that. I would def avoid the guys who charge aluminum by the inch hahaha.

TXsilverado 03-08-2018 11:06 AM

Originally Posted by arthursc2 (Post 5433274)
I'd drill em out and get some -12 weld bungs. I charge $30/bung so I imagine welders in your area are close to that. I would def avoid the guys who charge aluminum by the inch hahaha.

so it is actually as easy as drilling larger and welding in a bung? I wasn't sure if there was a tube running through it that would be the same size as the 1/2 female inlet/outlet.

arthursc2 03-08-2018 11:16 AM