THE TRUCK STOP General Chat area. Religion and politics topics will undoubtedly be deleted. Anything over PG-13 is not allowed. WORK SAFE!

Can anyone help me? I want to paint my rollpan and tailgate myself.

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2015, 11:44 AM
Charlie Murphy!

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Can anyone help me? I want to paint my rollpan and tailgate myself.

I wasn't sure where to post this.

I think the next project I'll tackle is painting the tailgate and roll pan. I have never done this before. About 15 years ago I painted using HVLP gun and I've painted thousands of things using rattle cans since then.

I've always wanted to paint a vehicle and I think this would be a good first step.

First off, I'm not looking to weld in the roll pan. I'm just going to bolt it in. I am going to be welding in a panel for my tailgate handle relocation.

What I'm looking for is a list of things I'll need. Maybe a website or 2 with examples.

Here's what I currently have:

Air compressor that can handle painting. (2 stage, 60 gallon, 15 SCFM @ 100 psi.)

Harbor Freight paint gun set. The older one that has 2 guns in it.

Harbor Freight industrial air filter/regulator.

Dura-block sanding block kit.

I'm going to build a makeshift booth. Nothing large enough to paint a car in, but contained enough to control the environment. (I'm thinking PVC pipe structure with see through plastic and a radiator space heater to regulate temperature. Also, a box fan/ac filter setup. Positive displacement.)

So, I strip the roll pan down to metal. Then filler, primer, base coat, clear coat.

I strip the tailgate down to metal where the panel is welded in. The process is similar to the roll pan except I don't need to strip the entire tailgate, but I will need to rough up the existing paint.

So what do I use to rough up the paint? What grades of sandpaper are recommended for the filler? What sanding blocks should I use? Something larger than the filler area right?