Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Official NBS V6 to GENIII V8 swap Guide *Supplemental Information*

Old 05-16-2021, 10:26 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Official NBS V6 to GENIII V8 swap Guide *Supplemental Information*

I made this guide a supplement to the guide that was made here:
https://www.performancetrucks.net/fo...-guide-378643/

I wanted to write everything down that I wish I would have known as I went through my swap. I'm a YouTube mechanic so I learn on the job lol.

Wiring Harness: There are minor differences in the wiring harnesses between RCSB trucks, Tahoes, and Extended Cab/Crew Cab trucks with rear AC functionality. In my instance, going from the 2001 Tahoe to the 2000 Silverado LS RCSB, there were 2 extra connections and what I believe to be a relay, that did not need to be used. I just zip tied them right above the wheel well and left them.

Manifolds: As noted in the previous guide, many of us will be upgrading to headers. I chose the speed engineering headers and ORY which actually mated to the the factory catback (I am trying to keep it quite). There is an important thing to note here that you need new plug wires. There are various lengths and you should measure yours to get the appropriate length. My 2001 LR4 engine needed the shorter version 10” length and you have to make sure that whatever brand you get that you get them with the 45 degree boot.