Notices
Midsize & Compact Trucks Suspension | Wheels | Tires | Drivetrain |Engine | Body

4.3L Mods

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2006, 11:53 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4.3L Mods

Hey, I got a 2002 Sonoma SLS 4.3L with 4l60E. I was wondering what are some cheap upgrades I can do to get some more power, and maybe better mileage? I have a K&N cone filter, I guess aftermarket MAF cuz it doesn't have a screen, a flexalite fan, and Dual exhaust.

I was looking at maybe some underdrive pulleys, a TB spacer, MSD 6A ignition box, and maybe a piece of 3'' aluminum intake tube that I can put in place of that rubber intake tube?

BTW, can someone explain what a ''vette servo'' is, and what it does? Would this help my 1/4mi. ET? Is there a way to tell what my rear axle ratio is? Are there any ''free mods'' that can be done?

Thanks, I'm new to tuning EFI. I have worked with carbed motors forever.
Old 05-15-2006, 10:32 AM
Hunt&Fisherator

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

search for the vette servo answers... They are a cheap upgrade for your tranny and they do help out a lot.

pulleys and a TB spacer will actally help out your motor quite a bit. porting and polishing those heads will get you some gains as well... Leave the plastic intake tube and maybe just change it out for a bigger one. The aluminum will heat up and raise your IAT's. (intake air temps) robbing you of a little power. what kind of exhaust do you have? shorty headers on those 4.3's help out too. just a few options... and then you always have power adders such as f/i or nitrous... keep those in mind.
Old 05-15-2006, 01:05 PM
TECH Apprentice

I would get an MSD ingnition. You won't so much notice a power difference, but it will have better throttle response. If your budget allows you might check this out http://wynjammer.com/ALM1115/GM_S10_4.html Look at this also http://wynjammer.com/ALM1115/Als_Workbench.html It allows you to run more boost. Looks cool too.
Old 05-15-2006, 06:08 PM