Notices
GM Engine & Exhaust Performance EFI | GEN I/GEN II/GEN III/GEN IV Engines |Small Block | Big Block |

Bad Ticking in 5.3

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2016, 12:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad Ticking in 5.3

I got my 05 Tahoe used recently (for cheap!). Knew it had some issues, but an engine tick started up about 2 weeks ago and is getting worse.

Did an oil change to see if the bearings were shredded at 220k miles. It was dirty, but not milky looking. Minimal metal flakes on the drain plug magnet. Weird red, dried residue on oil filling cap - perhaps something the previous owner put in to hid the tick???

Can't tell exactly where the noise is coming from. Could be lifters, but under the truck, it sounds like it's coming from the oil pan, so I thought maybe it's the oil pump. not sure. Oil pressure is a tad low (40psi) and isn't dropping at stop and go.

Any suggestions to troubleshoot? I'm not an amazing mechanic, but I really hate paying people to work on my rides for me if I can do it myself.
Old 01-27-2016, 12:16 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 545 Likes on 471 Posts

You can always try trans fluid in the oil to maybe help clear up the ticking, it might take a hundred miles or more to notice any change.
Old 01-27-2016, 12:45 PM

Originally Posted by FFDP
You can always try trans fluid in the oil to maybe help clear up the ticking, it might take a hundred miles or more to notice any change.
Maybe that's what the red residue was on the oil cap- ATF. Nice profile pic! Love that movie.
Old 01-27-2016, 01:58 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 126 Likes on 106 Posts